7 Things About Me

So after the initial introductions, I was thinking if you don’t know me in RL (and even if you do!) there are a few things I should mention.

I’m one of those people with a crap load of hobbies, most of which are really important for me so if I elaborate on them now, I won’t have to mention them (as much) in the future.

1. I’ve said before that I’m into running. Actually, I’m more than ‘into’ it. I run everyday I can, usually between 5-7 miles. Living by the beach has made it easier for me to do it because of the fresh sea air. I don’t know how this is going to play out when I move to Kobe because when I was in Leeds (a busy city) I found it much harder to go the same distance because of the pollution and because it was almost impossible to find a route that isn’t stopped somewhere by traffic.

2. On most runs, I go to a place where I can climb up the sea wall surrounding the cliffs and sit on a platform hidden from view where I do a few minutes of mediation whenever I can. Part of my fascination about Japan extends to Zen Buddhism which has taught me so much in the last two or three years that I have no idea where I would be without it.

My Beach Meditation Spot

3. On that note, I’m a little into photography. Which is why there is a small section of the list dedicated to taking photographs of various Japanese sights.

4. I also love playing guitar. I own both an electric and an acoustic but my heart always drifts towards the latter. I love country music or singer/songwriter and acoustic music. I play it almost everyday and I’ve written about two dozen songs altogether. Again, I don’t know what’s going to happen when I go to Japan, I don’t plan on taking my guitar with me because of its sheer bulk and un-packability, so at the moment I’m planning to buy a new one when I’m out there.

5. Having a Food Technology A-Level means that I did it for a total of 7 years at school. I’ve always been interested in food and health if there’s one thing I’m looking forward to in Japan it’s definitely the food. I’ve learned from all the background reading I’ve done that there is something special about traditional Japanese food with it’s subtlety, seasonal dependency and closeness to nature. So that’s why a lot of the list is made up of authentic foods I want to try.

6. I’ve been told that I spend way too much time reading. Well, I say there isn’t enough time to read everything I want! I like to read a lot of different things but since this blog is about Japan, I’ll probably only talk about those here. Some of the ones I’ve read are really good, both fiction and non-fiction but some are real duds. Check out future posts in the Books category for more!

7. If there’s one more thing I have to pick it’s that I write, a lot. 101 Things in Japan is a personal blog I started as a sort of diary I wanted to share with everyone. However, if you’ve stayed with me this far, you’re in for a treat. I actually run another blog called Minimal Student which is much more professional and has well over a couple hundred subscribers. To nick the tag line, it’s a blog for aspiring minimalists at university or college to find a healthier and happier life through simplicity and Zen. It has been much more successful than I had ever anticipated, but I don’t generally tell anybody about it. I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

Archives