#14 Natto

If there was one dish that most foreigners could pick to eliminate from tainting Japanese cuisine, it would be natto.

Natto is a dish made of fermented soybeans, which basically means it’s a bowl of sticky, slimy and snotty goodness.

I put it on the list because, as with all things that are gross tasting, it’s supposed to be extremely good for you. Soybeans are full of vitamins, protein and are low in fat. All three of which I shouldn’t be saying no to.

So when my host mother announced that we would be having natto for dinner, I didn’t know whether or not to laugh or cry.

She had made it a little differently, with green beans (pictured above) instead of just plain natto. With trepidation, I stuck my chopsticks in, and slowly lifted a few beans high enough to break the snot strings and put them into my mouth.

… actually, it wasn’t that bad!

It actually tasted quite alright, I had certainly eaten much grosser stuff. I think for most people, it’s not really the taste but more the texture that bothers them, but the green beans certainly helped with that.

In the end, I finished the whole bowl, and quite enjoyed it. It was quite filling, even though it was only a side dish.

So there you go, at least one foreigner in the world who doesn’t hate natto. Call me if you want to showcase me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. HK
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 04:34:20

    How fun! But by the looks of that picture, those are not green beans, but okra. Okra is very slimy 😉

    However, that dish looks pretty tasty!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives