#11 Mochi

Mochi is pounded rice made into a sticky bun which is usually filled with sweet bean paste. They’re extremely cheap (the above one is typical of what I buy a few times a week from the university store for Y80 – about 60p) and very filling. I usually get them for dessert, although I have no idea how fattening they are. I can imagine that since their probably just made of carbs and sugar, I should reduce the amount of them I eat!

Rice cakes are also traditionally eaten at new year’s, so I’ll be looking forward and updating on that when the time comes. Mini versions are eaten in soup, whilst other ones can be roasted. I’ve even eaten an okonomiyaki version of it, with cheese!

I’ve also eaten dango, which is based on mochi pounding, a post about that will be coming soon!

To end, mochi are so delicious I could probably eat them forever. But, as with most things in life, cold hard guilt stops me from enjoying them too much.

It’s at times like these I wish I didn’t have a conscience.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eli
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 17:35:49

    Sounds great! I wish I could try one. Do you have any idea if they are difficult to make? Could the ingredients be easily found in America? Any chance you are collecting recipes? 🙂
    Thanks for keeping us posted (pictures and all!).

    Reply

    • Jessica
      Oct 04, 2010 @ 13:23:08

      Hey Eli!

      Thanks for commenting! I’m not sure how easily ingredients are found in America… but I guess it shouldn’t be too hard! The hardest thing is probably making them on your own, perhaps you can find a nice Japanese lady to show you how? 😉 I hope my host grandmama will show me! Take care!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives