#72 Tsukiji Fish Market

Outside of the exit of Tsukiji station is a map pointing you in the direction of the Tsukiji Fish Market – the biggest seafood market in the world. But it’s quite unnecessary if you just follow the row of Japanese people making a beeline in the same direction… or if you follow the smell.

Tsukiji market is famous for the it’s tuna auction and sheer amount of dead (or alive) seafood selection. The market is absolutely huge, and full of people, making it take at least a couple of hours to check it out properly. It’s definitely not for the squeamish. You will see quite horrible things done to poor little fishies. They get chopped/sliced/squashed among many other Saw movie like actions.

Tourists aren’t allowed to see the auction unless they intend to buy something, but I guess the rules don’t stop many people… it’s probably something to do with the fact that it starts about 5 a.m.

I went pretty early myself, around 8 a.m. but the market is still pretty lively if you get there around 9 a.m. I did what we foreign students like to call the ‘gaijin bash’ and went around taking pictures, although it’s not strictly allowed. But thanks to my gaijin camouflage, I managed to get quite a few good shots in. Don’t forget to wear decent shoes by the way, the floor is covered in ice, blood and other things I don’t really want to think about.

There is also a selection of vegetable stalls around the edge of the market, as well as a few restaurants. Be prepared for queues and extortionate prices though. You would think that with an entire fish market right on the doorstep the fish would be cheap, but no. It’s more of a tourist trap for visitors who want to sample the fish they just spent hours admiring. Despite knowing this, I paid. But it was delicious, and worth it.

I paid quite a lot for this photo, hope you appreciate it 🙂

Tsukiji Market is always mentioned as one of the highlights of Tokyo. Even though there are some very horrible aspects of it (believe me, I care – I was vegetarian before I came to Japan) you can see the Japanese people’s appreciation of the fish and the sea.

I definitely recommend taking a visit since there’s nowhere else in the world where so much death and deliciousness can be rolled into sushi.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. penpenpenpen
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 07:16:50

    You take good shots, what camera did you use on shooting these?

    Reply

  2. Trackback: #54 Ginza « 101 Things in Japan
  3. Eli
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 16:31:45

    Love your last line, it reminds me that there are two sides to a coin, that life is all about duality (hard as it may be to accept sometimes). Thanks for the expensive pictures, I do appreciate them 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives