#47 Shonen Jump Merchandise

There is another one of these in which I'm posing with Luffy

As a self-confessed anime fan, I found myself acting like a child in a candy shop when I accidentally stumbled upon a Shonen Jump shop in Osaka. I tried to keep a straight face and not make that annoying fangirl noise (you know, the one that goes “eeeeeh!”) in the presence of my friend but unfortunately, my charade didn’t last long and soon I found myself losing all restraint and taking pictures of everything like a crazy person. With my camera lens making a loud shutter sound for every one I took, I wasn’t even being discreet about it, but luckily I didn’t get kicked out.

"no pictures please!"

 

Shonen Jump is a manga company that’s famous for it’s very popular manga (you might have heard of Dragonball Z?). The word ‘shonen’ means boy – as in their stuff is aimed at a male audience (action, fighting etc.) –  but as usual I blatantly ignored this minor detail and became obsessed with the stuff anyway.

 

These days, I don’t have much time to read manga or watch anime, but just like how people fondly think back to the shows they used to watch as children, I’ll always be a fan. Not wanting to perpetuate gaijin stereotypes, but anime is one of the first things that got me into Japanese culture in the first place.

Anime is only a tiny part of Japanese culture, but arguably it’s most famous. There was once a time when Sailor Moon used to be the extent of what I knew about Japan, but I’ve come a long way since then and have fallen in love with most aspects of Japanese culture – customs, festivals, the language, and especially literature.

So, as geeky as I think it is, I don’t know if I’d be here without it.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. otakufool
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 10:58:51

    I squeed just looking at the title of this post in my subscriptions feed so don’t worry about fangirling.

    This is just too amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives