#41 Statue

The story of Hachiko the Akita dog is a classic tale of friendship and loyalty. Hachiko was taken in by a professor at Tokyo University, who went to the train station everyday to go to work. They would walk in the morning together, until the station entrance, where the professor would board the train and Hachiko would wait outside until his master returned from work, and they would walk home together. They did this for a number of years, until one day the professor got on the train and never came back.

Hachiko waited and waited but the professor never appeared. He had died that day from a cerebral haemorrhage, leaving behind Hachiko who waited for him everyday. People on their way to work felt sorry for him and fed him snacks. He was even adopted again but ran away to wait at the station every day until he died.

A bronze statue of Hachiko was erected outside Shibuya station near where he waited as a symbol of loyalty, love and devotion.

Hachiko’s tale is well known throughout Japan by children and adults alike. It and has also been made into films and various comics and books have been published about him.

You can find Hachiko’s statue quite easily from the station, although there is a chance you may have to queue  to take a picture (that’s me with the blue hat). In any case, I’m a sucker for stories sad stories (especially if they involve cute doggies), so I was looking forward to doing it and it was an honor to finally meet him.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pratiksha
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 10:53:27

    hey… this post is gr8…
    I heard the story of Hachi long time ago in my Japanese culture class. Then a couple of days before I saw that movie. I told my husband tht there is a Hachi’s statue outside shibuya station but he didnt believe. Thanks for posting… i will show him ur post.. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sabina
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 11:17:14

    Hey

    I just wanted to tell you that I really like your posts here and on minimalstudent.com :D.

    Anyways, a few weeks ago I saw the movie Hachi: A dog’s tale (2009) and because I already knew how it would go, I started crying after 10 minutes ^^” (I can’t stand sad stories and I’ve got a shiba inu (when Hachi was a pup, they used a shiba inu in the movie) so..). You’re so lucky that you’ve got to visit the statue.

    Keep up your great posts!

    Greetings from the Netherlands and have fun in Japan,
    Sabina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives